Under Delaware law, only patients with medical marijuana cards can purchase cannabis. These patients can buy up to six ounces of marijuana per month.
Patient applications can be completed online through the state website or a paper application. The application must include a physician’s certification and a $50 nonrefundable fee.
If you’re suffering from severe pain, the state of Delaware considers this to be a qualifying condition. The state defines severe pain as any pain that causes “incapacity or a significant decrease in function, interferes with sleep or ability to work or interact with others, or is unbearable or debilitating.”
The medical marijuana card in Delaware will allow you to purchase a certain amount of cannabis from a registered dispensary. You cannot grow your own, though. Medical marijuana is still illegal under federal law, but Delaware’s medical marijuana program protects you from prosecution under the state’s laws.
A medical marijuana doctor will perform a consultation to see if the condition you’re suffering from could be treated with marijuana and determine your eligibility. During this visit, your doctor will complete their portion of the physician certification form, which you will use to apply for your medical marijuana card online or via paper application.
Patients suffering from nausea can be able to relieve the symptoms through medical marijuana. The state of Delaware allows qualified patients to purchase up to 6 ounces of cannabis every 14 days. They are also allowed to designate a caregiver to help with their purchase. However, growing cannabis at home is not permitted in Delaware.
The medical marijuana program in Delaware is overseen by the state’s Department of Health and Social Services. The first step on how to get a medical marijuana card in Delaware is to meet with a certified physician who can provide you with a medical marijuana recommendation. This doctor will review your medical history, perform a health evaluation, and check if you have one of the qualifying conditions.
To qualify for a Delaware medical marijuana card, you must be an adult 18 years or older with documentation proving your medical condition. If you are under 18, you must have parental consent or certification from a pediatric neurologist, gastroenterologist, developmental pediatrician, or pediatric palliative care specialist.
The process of obtaining a medical marijuana card in Delaware is relatively simple. You must be a permanent resident of the state to register with the DMMP. Once you’ve met all the qualifications, you must submit a complete application and pay the required State fee to the Department of Health and Social Services. Upon submitting your application, you’ll wait to hear back from the Department about whether or not it was approved. If it was, the state will send you your medical marijuana card in the mail.
The state of Delaware allows medical marijuana patients to possess up to six ounces of cannabis per month. The legalization of cannabis in the state is allowing people with a wide variety of conditions to find relief and improve their quality of life.
Once the doctor approves you, you will submit your medical marijuana certification to the state of Delaware. Upon doing so, you will be able to purchase from a medical marijuana dispensary. The process to get a marijuana card is much simpler than you may think. Before you schedule your appointment with a medical marijuana doctor, it is recommended to start the portal registration process through the OMM division of the state’s Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS). This will allow you to submit your physician certification before your visit and ensure your patient information is current when you apply with DHSS.
The critical criteria for becoming a medical marijuana caregiver in the state of Delaware are being 21 years old, never having been convicted of a felony, registering with the state, agreeing to assist the patient with their medical cannabis treatment, and passing a background check.
The state of Delaware has established a medical marijuana program that allows patients with qualifying conditions to purchase, possess, and grow limited amounts of cannabis. Patients can visit licensed dispensaries (called compassion centers) to purchase cannabis for medicinal purposes. In addition, the state allows registered caregivers to provide up to six ounces of cannabis per month for their patients.
To qualify for a medical marijuana card in Delaware, you must undergo a comprehensive health evaluation with an approved doctor. The physician must certify in writing that you have one of the debilitating conditions listed on the state’s website and that the condition can be treated with medical marijuana.
In the case of minors, the healthcare practitioner must be a developmental pediatrician, pediatric gastroenterologist, pediatric oncologist, or pediatric palliative care specialist to certify that they have a chronic or severe medical condition.
Once you have your signed physician’s certification, you can submit your application with the Delaware Medical Marijuana Program online portal or by mail. Upon submission, you must pay a nonrefundable fee of $50. The simplest way to pay for your appointment is by using Veriheal, which offers a 100% refund if you don’t get approved for a card. Once your application has been approved, you’ll receive a letter from the DHSS confirming your eligibility and granting you access to the state’s regulated marijuana industry.